Bedside Snapshot
- Use It For
- Postpartum uterine atony, hemorrhage and subinvolution after delivery of the placenta (label indication); second-stage bleeding after the anterior shoulder (American Regent label)
- Adult Dose
- PPH: 0.2 mg (1 mL) IM after delivery of the placenta; repeat every 2–4 hr as required. IV only if life-saving
- Pediatric Dose
- Not established in children: specialist or medical-control use only
- Onset / Duration
- IV: immediate; IM: 2–5 min; PO: 5–10 min. Duration not stated on the label
- Do Not Give / Hold If
- Hypertension; toxemia (preeclampsia); pregnancy; hypersensitivity; strong or moderate CYP3A4 inhibitor given or on board
- Watch For
- Hypertension (the most common reaction; headache and seizure in some cases); IV hypertensive and cerebrovascular events; ventricular arrhythmia (post-marketing); vasospasm and myocardial ischemia in coronary disease
- Reversal / Rescue
- No specific antidote on the label: stop the drug and treat hypertension or ischemia per protocol; continue PPH escalation per protocol
- Must Remember
- Check BP and history before every dose: hypertension, toxemia and pregnancy are contraindications. Ampules are refrigerated at 2–8 °C and protected from light
Indications
Emergency & Prehospital
- Postpartum uterine atony, hemorrhage and subinvolution: standard care once the placenta is out (label indication)
- Second-stage hemorrhage: bleeding control after the anterior shoulder is delivered. Labeled in the American Regent injection label, not in the Breckenridge label.
ED / ICU / Transport
- Postpartum hemorrhage that continues after first-line uterotonic: a second-line uterotonic, per local protocol and medical direction. The label does not give a second-line sequence.
Other Uses
- Before placenta delivery: not a label use. Give it only with obstetric direction and protocol. Uterine tetany can trap the placenta. An undiagnosed second twin is a risk.
- Not labeled for antepartum use: contraindicated in pregnancy. The uterotonic effect includes inducing labor.
- Not a prophylactic indication: the label covers postpartum treatment, not routine prophylaxis. Prevention falls to oxytocin, per protocol.
Dosing & Administration
Doses vary by protocol; follow local protocols and medical direction.
Available Forms
- Injection 0.2 mg/mL: 1 mL ampule (0.2 mg); store in refrigerator (2–8 °C)
- Oral tablet 0.2 mg: Methergine and generic tablets; store below 25 °C in a tight, light-resistant container
Adult Dosing
| Indication | Dose & Route | Repeat / Max | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Postpartum hemorrhage after placenta delivery, IM | 0.2 mg (1 mL) IM; fixed dose, not weight-based | Repeat every 2–4 hr as required; no maximum daily dose stated on the label | Preferred route for routine use. The label IM timing also allows after the anterior shoulder or in the puerperium. Before placenta delivery: protocol and obstetric direction only (placental trapping; undiagnosed twins). Check BP before the dose. |
| Life-threatening hemorrhage, IV (not routine) | 0.2 mg (1 mL) IV, given slowly over at least 60 sec | No repeat interval stated on the label; per protocol. No fixed max | Label warns against routine IV use because of sudden hypertensive and cerebrovascular events. Give only when IV use is essential, with careful BP monitoring. |
| Puerperium, oral step-down | 0.2 mg PO (one tablet) | 3 or 4 times daily for a maximum of 1 week | Tablet label dosing. Use after the acute bleed per protocol. |
Pediatric Dosing
| Indication | Dose (per kg) & Route | Max Single / Max Total | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any indication in children | Not established in children | Not applicable | Label: safety and effectiveness in pediatric patients have not been established. Specialist or medical-control use only. |
Pediatric note: No pediatric regimen exists. Infants exposed through breast milk: go to Special Populations. For weight-based dosing of other agents, see pediatric weight-based dosing.
Preparation & Administration
- IM: 1 mL (0.2 mg) into the muscle once the placenta is out. The label also allows it after the anterior shoulder or during the puerperium. Not before placenta delivery unless obstetric direction says so (see Indications).
- IV: 1 mL (0.2 mg) pushed slowly, over no less than 60 seconds. The label says nothing about dilution, admixture or push rate beyond that. Strictly avoid intra-arterial or periarterial injection (label).
- Ampule check: administer only if the solution is clear and colorless (label).
- Light and storage: ampules refrigerated at 2–8 °C (36–46 °F), protected from light. Tablets stored below 25 °C (77 °F) in a light-resistant container.
- Infusion: None. The label describes no continuous infusion, so no pump is needed.
Dosing Notes:
- Fixed dose: not weight-based
- Repeat IM every 2–4 hr as required. The label sets no daily maximum. Any cap comes from protocol
- IV is the exception. It is not the routine route (see Contraindications & Precautions)
Contraindications & Precautions
Contraindications
- Hypertension
- Toxemia (preeclampsia)
- Pregnancy: contraindicated because of its uterotonic effects
- Hypersensitivity to methylergonovine
- Strong and moderate CYP3A4 inhibitors: the label says they should not be co-administered (see Interactions)
Precautions
- Sepsis and obliterative vascular disease: the label says use caution.
- Coronary artery disease or its risk factors: they are more likely to get myocardial ischemia or infarction from vasospasm.
- Weak CYP3A4 inhibitors: use with caution (label).
- Beta-blockers: may strengthen the vasoconstriction that ergot alkaloids cause.
- IV use: the label says not to give it IV routinely. Sudden hypertensive and cerebrovascular events are possible.
- Intra-arterial or periarterial injection: Strictly avoid it (label).
- Hepatic or renal impairment: no studies exist in either population. Use with caution (label).
Hold / Reassess If
- Blood pressure elevated: the label gives no numeric threshold; hypertension is the most common reaction. Stop and treat per protocol.
- Chest pain, ischemic ECG change or new arrhythmia: Stop and reassess per protocol. The label warns of vasospasm and myocardial ischemia.
- Limb pallor, coldness or pain: Possible vasospasm. Stop and reassess per protocol.
Wrong patient: Hypertension and preeclampsia are labeled contraindications to this drug. Pull the BP and history before the first dose. Unsure? Oxytocin, per protocol.
Adverse Effects & Toxicity
Common
- Hypertension: the most common adverse reaction on the label. In several cases it was linked to seizure and/or headache.
Serious / Life-Threatening
| Effect | Recognition | Management |
|---|---|---|
| Hypertensive or cerebrovascular event | Sudden BP rise, severe headache, new neurologic deficit; cerebrovascular accident reported post-marketing (highest risk with IV use) | Stop the drug; treat hypertension and stroke per protocol |
| Seizure | Seizure, reported in several cases with hypertension (label) | Stop the drug; seizure and BP care per protocol |
| Ventricular fibrillation or ventricular tachycardia | Post-marketing reports (label). Arrhythmia on the monitor, pulse loss or palpitations | Stop the drug; ACLS per protocol; 12-lead ECG when stable |
| Vasospasm and myocardial ischemia or infarction | Chest pain, ischemic ECG change, arrhythmia; coronary disease or CYP3A4 inhibitor co-administration | Stop the drug; 12-lead ECG; treat per protocol |
| Vasospasm of the limbs | Pallor, coldness or pain of an extremity (ergot-type vasoconstriction) | Stop the drug; assess perfusion; treat per protocol |
| Anaphylaxis | Rare isolated reports; causal link not proven (label). Urticaria, bronchospasm, hypotension | Stop the drug; anaphylaxis treatment per protocol |
Overdose & Toxicity Management
- Signs (label): nausea, vomiting, oliguria, abdominal pain, numbness or tingling of the extremities, rise in blood pressure (in severe cases followed by hypotension), respiratory depression, hypothermia, convulsions and coma.
- Immediate management: stop methylergonovine. Monitor BP and ECG. The label describes supportive, symptom-based care: remove the drug (emesis or lavage), keep ventilation going, pressors for hypotension, standard anticonvulsants for convulsions and warmth for peripheral vasospasm.
- Antidote: The label states none. Antihypertensives per protocol (for example labetalol or hydralazine).
- Ongoing PPH: Escalate per protocol. This drug is no substitute for uterine massage, tranexamic acid or oxytocin.
Monitoring
| Parameter | When / How Often | Target / Act If |
|---|---|---|
| Clinical | Blood pressure before each dose and during and after IV administration | Elevated BP or a hypertensive event: stop and treat per protocol |
| Clinical | Chest pain, ECG rhythm and distal perfusion during and after the dose | Ischemic change, arrhythmia or limb pallor: stop and reassess per protocol |
| Clinical | Uterine tone and bleeding after each dose | Boggy uterus with ongoing bleeding: massage and escalate per protocol |
| Infusion Safety | Dose count and times for IM and IV doses on the chart, including any oral step-down | Dose or interval differs from the order: verify with a second clinician |
Interactions & Compatibility
Clinically Significant Interactions
| Drug / Class | Effect | What To Do |
|---|---|---|
| Strong and moderate CYP3A4 inhibitors (label examples: clarithromycin, ritonavir, ketoconazole, itraconazole, voriconazole, fluconazole) | Label: should not be co-administered with methylergonovine; ergot-type vasoconstriction and vasospasm risk | Do not give together; choose another uterotonic per protocol |
| Ergot-type drugs (label examples: dihydroergotamine, ergotamine) | With CYP3A4 inhibitors, vasospasm risk (label) | Avoid the combination |
| Vasoconstrictors, ergot alkaloids, prostaglandins | Used together, additive vasoconstriction and BP effects (label) | Give one agent at a time; track total dose and BP (see phenylephrine for a pressor example) |
| Beta-blockers | May enhance the vasoconstrictive action of ergot alkaloids (label) | Watch BP and perfusion |
| CYP3A4 inducers (label examples: rifampin, nevirapine) | May reduce the uterotonic effect (label) | Expect a weaker response; reassess per protocol |
| Anesthetics (label examples: halothane, methoxyflurane) | May reduce oxytocic potency (label) | Reassess uterine tone after the dose |
| Nitrates and other antianginals (for example nitroglycerin) | Label: may reduce their effect | Reassess chest pain response per protocol |
| Oxytocin (oxytocin page) | Not a labeled interaction; oxytocin is the first-line uterotonic and is used alongside or before methylergonovine per protocol | Use the bundle order in the protocol; do not stack uterotonics without a plan |
IV Compatibility
- Diluent and admixture: the label offers no diluent, Y-site or admixture data.
- Push technique: Push 0.2 mg IV slowly, over at least 60 seconds. Watch BP during and after the dose.
- Dedicated line: the label sets no line requirement. Use a line you can monitor.
- Verify with an institutional compatibility resource.
Special Populations
- Pediatrics: Not established (label). See the Pediatric Dosing table. Do not extrapolate adult doses.
- Neonates: Infants can get the drug through breast milk during maternal treatment. The label says mothers should not breastfeed during treatment or for at least 12 hours after the last dose. Tell the neonatal team.
- Pregnancy: contraindicated because of its uterotonic effects. Label use comes after the placenta is delivered (or after the anterior shoulder, or in the puerperium). Before placenta delivery, use it only under obstetric direction. Tetanic contraction can trap the placenta. An undiagnosed second twin is a risk.
- Lactation: Mothers should not breastfeed during treatment. Discard the milk made in the 12 hours after the last dose (label).
- Older Adults: The labels reviewed establish no specific adjustment.
- Renal Impairment: Renal excretion helps clear the drug and its metabolites (label). No studies exist in renal impairment. Use with caution (label).
- Hepatic Impairment: The drug is mostly cleared by hepatic metabolism and excretion (label). No studies exist in hepatic impairment. Use with caution (label).
- Obesity / Dosing Weight: fixed dose; not weight-based.
Field & Transport Considerations
- Scope: EMS use varies by state and agency protocol. A 2025 systematic review of prehospital uterotonics found limited evidence. Some systems carry oxytocin as their only uterotonic. Others carry none. Use is per protocol and medical direction.
- Storage & Stability: Injection stays refrigerated at 2–8 °C, away from light. Tablets stay below 25 °C. Don't leave ampules in a warm vehicle. Confirm the product in hand before use.
- Carried Concentration: 0.2 mg/mL ampule (1 mL = 0.2 mg) for IM or slow IV use. Read the label out loud. Methylergonovine and terbutaline (uterine relaxant) get confused with each other (see the terbutaline page).
- Infusions in Transport: none; no pump required.
- Altitude / Environment: not addressed in the label.
- Handoff Essentials: time, route and number of doses given; time of placenta or anterior shoulder delivery; BP before and after each dose; uterine tone; quantified blood loss; time of oxytocin and tranexamic acid, if given.
Clinical Pearls
Oxytocin first, methylergonovine second: Oxytocin is the first-line uterotonic. Methylergonovine comes in for bleeding that continues after oxytocin, and only when the patient is not hypertensive. The second-line choice is a protocol call: methylergonovine, or agents such as carboprost or misoprostol, per local protocol and medical direction.
Hypertension rules it out: Labeled contraindications: preeclampsia, toxemia and hypertension. Exam discriminator (FP-C, CCP-C, CFRN): postpartum atony with elevated BP gets oxytocin per protocol. Not methylergonovine.
IV is not routine: The label warns that IV use can cause sudden hypertensive and cerebrovascular events. Save the 60-second IV dose for life-threatening bleeding. Watch BP the whole time.
Methylergonovine versus terbutaline: Methylergonovine tightens the uterus to control postpartum hemorrhage. Terbutaline relaxes it in preterm labor. ISMP flags this pair as a confused-name risk (cited on the terbutaline page).
Refrigerated ampules, room-temperature tablets: Keep injection at 2–8 °C, away from light. Oral tablets go below 25 °C. Check the product before you assume either storage rule.
Onset and duration: IM onset is 2–5 min. The label gives no duration. Mean elimination half-life after IM dosing is 3.39 hr (range 1.5–12.7 hr).
Pharmacology
Mechanism of Action
- Target: uterine smooth muscle. The label says it acts directly on the uterus and names no receptor
- Effect: it raises the tone, rate and amplitude of rhythmic contractions. The result is a rapid, sustained, tetanic uterotonic effect (label)
- Consequence: a sustained squeeze on the uterus that limits bleeding from the placental site after delivery
- Off-target: ergot-type vasoconstriction. The label warns of vasospasm, hypertension and myocardial ischemia
Pharmacokinetics
| Route | Onset | Peak | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| IV | Immediate (label) | Not stated on label | Not stated on label |
| IM | 2–5 min (label) | Mean about 0.41 hr (about 25 min) | Not stated on label |
| PO | 5–10 min (label) | Not stated on label | Not stated on label |
- Half-life: mean elimination half-life 3.39 hr (range 1.5–12.7 hr) after IM dosing (label)
- Metabolism: Mostly hepatic metabolism and excretion. Clinical Pharmacology names no metabolizing enzyme. CYP3A4 interactions are listed under Interactions.
- Active metabolites: the label mentions the drug's metabolites but names none
- Elimination: renal excretion helps clear it (label)
Names & Classification
- Generic Name
- Methylergonovine maleate
- Brand Names
- Methergine (US; injection and tablets); multiple generic injections and tablets from several labelers
- Pharmacologic Class
- Ergot alkaloid
- Therapeutic Class
- Uterotonic (postpartum)
- Controlled Substance
- Not controlled (DailyMed DEA schedule: none)
- ISMP High-Alert
- Not set as high-alert on this page; not checked against the current ISMP acute-care list in this review
- Look-Alike / Sound-Alike
- Methergine / Brethine (terbutaline), as cited on the terbutaline page
- Error-Prone Abbreviations to Avoid
- None commonly reported
References
- Breckenridge Pharmaceutical, Inc. (2025). Methylergonovine maleate injection, USP: Prescribing information. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=8bccff44-2a39-400a-b8a4-2eb5249fdbc8
- American Regent, Inc. (2025). Methylergonovine maleate injection, solution: Prescribing information. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=a9a3079e-b62b-4858-920e-d8f5cb38481e
- Lupin Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (2024). Methergine (methylergonovine maleate) tablets: Prescribing information. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=3f04ca06-fe52-46d6-96cd-2e77ef6fa36f
- Par Health USA. (2026). Pitocin (oxytocin injection): Prescribing information (comparison). DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=6e5a66fc-e507-497c-b5ce-44a8c95898ad
- Wiciak H, Strózik M, Smereka J. (2025). Uterotonic Drugs in Prevention and Management in Postpartum Haemorrhage in Prehospital Deliveries-A Systematic Review. Healthcare (Basel). https://doi.org/10.3390/healthcare13090976
Medical Disclaimer
- For Educational Purposes Only: This content is intended for educational reference and should not be used for clinical decision-making.
- Not a Substitute for Professional Judgment: Always consult your local protocols, institutional guidelines, and supervising physicians.
- Verify Before Acting: Users are responsible for verifying information through authoritative sources before any clinical application.
AI Assistance Notice
AI was used to assist in organizing, paraphrasing, and formatting this information.