Bedside Snapshot
- Use It For
- Postpartum hemorrhage from uterine atony; third-stage uterine contraction; labor induction or augmentation with a medical indication; adjunct for incomplete abortion
- Adult Dose
- PPH: 10 units IM after placenta delivery, or 10–40 units added to 1,000 mL IV fluid, titrated to uterine tone
- Labor: 0.5–1 mU/min IV, increased 1–2 mU/min every 30–60 min
- Pediatric Dose
- Not established in children: obstetric use only. Newborns of exposed mothers can have bradycardia, arrhythmias and seizures
- Onset / Duration
- IV: almost immediate, subsides within 1 hr; IM: 3–5 min, lasts 2–3 hr
- Do Not Give / Hold If
- Elective induction of labor; cephalopelvic disproportion; unconvertible malpresentation; fetal distress with delivery not imminent; hypersensitivity. Stop for uterine tone of 15–20 mmHg or more between contractions
- Watch For
- Hypertonic contractions and uterine rupture; water intoxication with convulsions and coma after prolonged infusion; hypertension, hypotension or arrhythmia; bleeding and afibrinogenemia
- Reversal / Rescue
- No specific antidote. Stop the infusion, give supportive care and oxygen; for PPH, add uterine massage, tranexamic acid and escalation per protocol
- Must Remember
- Units are not milliunits: the PPH dose is 10 units; the labor infusion is 0.5–1 milliunit/min (a 1,000-fold difference). Verify concentration and pump rate
Indications
Emergency & Prehospital
- Postpartum hemorrhage from uterine atony: Contracts the uterus to control bleeding after delivery (label postpartum indication)
- Third stage of labor: Contracts the uterus after the infant is delivered, to control bleeding (label)
ED / ICU / Transport
- Induction of labor with a medical indication: for example Rh problems, maternal diabetes, preeclampsia at or near term, or prematurely ruptured membranes when delivery is indicated (label)
- Stimulation or reinforcement of labor: selected cases of uterine inertia (label)
- Incomplete or inevitable abortion: adjunct to help the uterus empty; curettage is generally primary in the first trimester (label)
Other Uses
- Not indicated for elective induction of labor: The label says the data are not enough to weigh benefits and risks for that use (boxed notice)
- Guideline role: WHO, FIGO and ICM (2025) recommend a quality-assured uterotonic in the third stage, preferably oxytocin. Oxytocics are a listed step in the first-response PPH bundle
Dosing & Administration
Doses vary by protocol; follow local protocols and medical direction.
Available Forms
- 10 units/mL (synthetic), 1 mL single-dose vial (10 units): used for IM use and for adding to IV fluid
- 10 units/mL, 10 mL multiple-dose vial (100 units; Pitocin, Par): contains chlorobutanol 0.5% preservative
- 10 units/mL, 30 mL multiple-dose vial (300 units; Fresenius Kabi): contains chlorobutanol 0.5%
High-Alert Medication: The big error is units versus milliunits. Labor rates are written in milliunits/min (0.5–1 mU/min). The concentrate is 10 units per mL. That is a 1,000-fold difference. A rate error causes uterine hyperstimulation and water intoxication. Double-check concentration, units, mU/min and mL/hr independently. Do it at the start, at each bag change and at handoff.
Adult Dosing
| Indication | Dose & Route | Repeat / Max | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Postpartum hemorrhage (uterine atony), IM | 10 units IM (1 mL), after delivery of the placenta | Single dose; repeat or switch to IV infusion per protocol; no fixed max on label | High-alert Label dose. Use the IV infusion when IV access is in place and bleeding continues. |
| Postpartum hemorrhage, IV infusion | 10–40 units added to the IV bag (maximum 40 units per 1,000 mL); rate set to sustain uterine contraction | Titrate to uterine tone; no fixed max per hour; max 40 units per 1,000 mL bag | High-alert Label carrier: electrolyte solution (label also mentions dextrose). This page uses 0.9% sodium chloride or Ringer's lactate. Piggyback on the electrolyte line so it can be stopped without stopping fluids. |
| Labor induction or augmentation (medical indication), IV only | Start 0.5–1 milliunit/min IV infusion (3–6 mL/hr at 10 mU/mL). Rate in mL/hr depends on concentration; recalculate if the bag is not 10 units per 1,000 mL. | Increase 1–2 mU/min every 30–60 min; rates above 9–10 mU/min at term rarely needed; no fixed max: titrate to contraction pattern | High-alert Obstetric use only, with continuous uterine and fetal monitoring and an infusion pump. IV is the only accepted route for labor. |
| Incomplete or inevitable abortion (adjunct), IV infusion | 10 units added to 500 mL of saline (label also lists 5% dextrose) | Total not to exceed 30 units in 12 hr (water intoxication) | High-alert Obstetric use. This page uses saline as the carrier; see the dextrose note under Interactions. |
Pediatric Dosing
| Indication | Dose (per kg) & Route | Max Single / Max Total | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any indication in children | Not established in children | Not applicable | The label is written for obstetric use and gives no pediatric regimen. Specialist use only, through pediatric or medical-control direction. |
| Newborns of mothers given oxytocin | Not dosed; exposure is through maternal infusion | Not applicable | Label-reported neonatal effects: bradycardia, arrhythmias, low Apgar scores, jaundice, retinal hemorrhage and neonatal seizures. Tell the neonatal team the maternal dose and timing. |
Pediatric note: No pediatric dose exists for this drug. For weight-based dosing of other agents, see pediatric weight-based dosing.
Continuous Infusion
| Setting | Example Concentration | Start | Titrate | Usual Range / Max |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Labor (label standard) | 10 units in 1,000 mL 0.9% sodium chloride or Ringer's lactate (10 mU/mL; example, institution-specific) | 0.5–1 mU/min (3–6 mL/hr) | Increase by 1–2 mU/min every 30–60 min until the desired contraction pattern; reduce by similar steps at 5–6 cm dilation | Rates above 9–10 mU/min at term rarely needed; no fixed max: stop for hyperstimulation or fetal distress |
| Postpartum hemorrhage (added to bag) | 10–40 units per 1,000 mL (maximum 40 units per 1,000 mL) | Set to sustain uterine contraction (no label start rate) | Adjust to uterine tone and bleeding | No fixed max rate; escalate per protocol if atony persists |
Preparation & Administration
- IV bolus: The label gives IV infusion for labor and IM for PPH. It sets no IV push dose. WHO-FIGO-ICM 2025 (Recommendation 24 remarks) says to avoid rapid IV injection. Dilute the initial 10 units and give it slowly over 1–2 minutes, or infuse it over 5–10 minutes in a small volume of crystalloid. A bolus can cause hypotension, so see Clinical Pearls. Check BP during and after the dose.
- Infusion: add the vial to 1,000 mL of 0.9% sodium chloride or Ringer's lactate, rotate to mix, and run on an infusion pump. Piggyback the bag onto a separate electrolyte line so it can be stopped without interrupting that line.
- IM: 10 units (1 mL) into the muscle after delivery of the placenta.
- Monitoring during infusion: the label requires electronic monitoring of uterine activity and fetal heart rate. Stop the infusion at once for uterine hyperactivity or fetal distress, give oxygen and place the mother on her side.
- Light and storage: store at 20–25°C (68–77°F); do not freeze. Inspect parenteral product visually before use.
Dosing Notes:
- 10 units/mL concentrate. 10 units in 1,000 mL equals 10 mU/mL, so 1 mU/min = 6 mL/hr
- Abortion-indication total cap: 30 units in 12 hr
- The uterine response sets the dose. Weight does not
Contraindications & Precautions
Contraindications
- Antepartum use with significant cephalopelvic disproportion
- Unfavorable fetal position or presentation (such as transverse lie) that cannot be converted before delivery
- Obstetric emergency where surgery is the better choice for mother or fetus
- Fetal distress where delivery is not imminent
- Adequate uterine activity that fails to achieve satisfactory progress
- Uterus already hyperactive or hypertonic
- Vaginal delivery contraindicated: invasive cervical carcinoma, active genital herpes, total placenta previa, vasa previa, cord presentation or prolapse
- Hypersensitivity to oxytocin
- Elective induction of labor (boxed notice; not indicated)
The label's list is written for antepartum use. Beyond hypersensitivity, it names no postpartum contraindication. In life-threatening postpartum hemorrhage, treat per protocol.
Precautions
- Uterine hyperstimulation: even with proper use, hypertonic or tetanic contractions can happen in hypersensitive uteri. Between contractions, resting tone of 15–20 mmHg or more can lead to uterine rupture.
- Use with caution or avoid: fetal distress, hydramnios, partial placenta previa, prematurity, borderline cephalopelvic disproportion, prior major uterine or cervical surgery including cesarean section, overdistention, grand multiparity, and prior uterine sepsis or traumatic delivery (except in unusual circumstances).
- Water intoxication: Here's the catch: oxytocin has an intrinsic antidiuretic effect. Antidiuresis means the body holds on to water. Convulsions and coma have occurred with slow infusions over 24 hr. Maternal deaths have been reported. Risk is higher when fluids are taken by mouth.
- Blood loss: The label warns of more bleeding and afibrinogenemia.
- Anesthesia interactions: severe hypertension after a vasoconstrictor given for caudal block (3–4 hr earlier), and hypotension or bradycardia with cyclopropane.
Hold / Reassess If
- Uterine tone: resting tone of 15–20 mmHg or more between contractions, or tetanic contractions: stop the infusion (label).
- Fetal distress on monitoring: stop the infusion immediately (label).
- Convulsions, coma or other signs of water intoxication: stop oxytocin and give supportive care (label).
- Hypertension, hypotension or new arrhythmia: stop or slow the infusion and reassess per protocol; the label gives no numeric threshold.
FDA Boxed Warning: Pitocin is not indicated for elective induction of labor. The available data are not enough to weigh benefits and risks for that use.
Parenteral risk: Maternal deaths have been reported with parenteral oxytocic use for labor, from hypertensive episodes, subarachnoid hemorrhage, uterine rupture and water intoxication (label).
Adverse Effects & Toxicity
Common
- Nausea and vomiting
- Premature ventricular contractions and other cardiac arrhythmias
- Hypertensive episodes
- Uterine hypertonicity, spasm or tetanic contractions with excessive dose
- The label gives no incidence figures for these
Serious / Life-Threatening
| Effect | Recognition | Management |
|---|---|---|
| Uterine hyperstimulation or rupture | Hypertonic or prolonged contractions, resting tone 15–20 mmHg or more, fetal distress, pain or bleeding | Stop the infusion; oxygen; left lateral position; obstetric team |
| Water intoxication | Convulsions, coma; long infusions or oral fluid intake | Stop oxytocin; supportive care; seizure care per protocol |
| Afibrinogenemia and bleeding | Ongoing bleeding despite uterine contraction | Send fibrinogen and coagulation labs; blood products per protocol |
| Anaphylactic reaction | Hypotension, bronchospasm, urticaria, angioedema | Epinephrine per protocol (see epinephrine 1 mg/mL IM) |
Overdose & Toxicity Management
- Signs: uterine hyperactivity (hypertonic or tetanic contractions, uterine resting tone of 15–20 mmHg or more); convulsions and coma from water intoxication.
- Immediate management: stop oxytocin at once; oxygen; lateral position; supportive care (label).
- Antidote: None exists. The label names no specific reversal agent.
- PPH rescue: uterine massage, tranexamic acid (tranexamic acid), IV fluids and escalation per protocol. Oxytocin is not a substitute for these steps.
Monitoring
| Parameter | When / How Often | Target / Act If |
|---|---|---|
| Clinical | Uterine tone and bleeding, continuously after the dose | Firm uterus with ongoing bleeding: massage, add a uterotonic per protocol and escalate |
| Clinical | BP, heart rate and rhythm at each dose and during infusion | Hypertension, hypotension, bradycardia or arrhythmia: stop or slow the infusion and treat per protocol |
| Clinical | Uterine activity and fetal heart rate, continuously (label) | Resting tone 15–20 mmHg or more, tetanic contractions or fetal distress: stop the infusion |
| Clinical | Fluid intake and urine output during a prolonged infusion | Convulsions, coma or signs of water intoxication: stop oxytocin and give supportive care |
| Laboratory | Fibrinogen and coagulation tests when bleeding continues (see fibrinogen and hemoglobin) | Low fibrinogen or falling hemoglobin: treat per protocol; the label warns of afibrinogenemia |
| Infusion Safety | Pump rate in mL/hr and mU/min at start, each bag change and handoff | Rate does not match the ordered mU/min: stop and verify with a second clinician |
Interactions & Compatibility
Clinically Significant Interactions
| Drug / Class | Effect | What To Do |
|---|---|---|
| Vasoconstrictors given with caudal block | Severe hypertension when oxytocin is given 3–4 hr after the vasoconstrictor (label) | Monitor BP closely; treat hypertension per protocol |
| Cyclopropane anesthesia | Unexpected hypotension; sinus bradycardia with abnormal AV rhythms (label) | Monitor BP and rhythm; treat per protocol |
| Other vasopressors and sympathomimetics (for example phenylephrine) | Potentiated pressor response; sibling pages flag hemorrhagic stroke risk with oxytocic drugs | Titrate one drug at a time; track total pressor dose |
| Ergot alkaloids (methylergonovine) | Additive uterotonic and pressor effects; hemorrhagic stroke risk per the phenylephrine page | Use only per obstetric protocol; watch BP after each dose |
| Tranexamic acid (page) | Not a drug interaction; given alongside oxytocin in PPH | Give with oxytocin, never instead of it |
| Dextrose 5% in water (D5W page) | Free-water load adds to the antidiuretic effect: water intoxication | Use saline or Ringer's lactate as the carrier; monitor fluid intake |
IV Compatibility
- Diluents: 0.9% sodium chloride or Ringer's lactate (label)
- Dedicated line: The label directs piggyback on a separate electrolyte line. It gives no Y-site compatibility data
- Dextrose: The labor standard solution is 0.9% saline or Ringer's lactate. The label's PPH text (10–40 units added to the bag, "depending on the amount of electrolyte or dextrose solution remaining") and its abortion text (5% dextrose in water) also mention dextrose. This page prefers saline or Ringer's lactate because of water-intoxication risk. The D5W page advises against dextrose as a carrier
- Verify with an institutional compatibility resource.
Special Populations
- Pediatrics: Not established. There is no pediatric labeling. See the Pediatric Dosing table.
- Neonates: Maternal dosing can cause neonatal bradycardia, arrhythmias, seizures and low Apgar scores (label). Tell the neonatal team.
- Pregnancy: Used for labor and postpartum care. The label says no animal reproduction studies were done. Fetal abnormality is not expected when used as indicated. In the first trimester, the only indication is abortion.
- Lactation: The Pitocin label is silent on this. A generic label says it is not known whether oxytocin is excreted in human milk. It advises caution with nursing mothers.
- Older Adults: No specific adjustment is established. Use the lowest effective dose. Watch for water retention.
- Renal Impairment: No specific adjustment is established. The label says only small amounts are excreted unchanged in urine.
- Hepatic Impairment: No specific adjustment is established. The kidney and liver are the main clearance routes, per the label.
- Obesity / Dosing Weight: Dosing is fixed in units and milliunits per minute. It is not weight-based in adults.
Field & Transport Considerations
- Scope: EMS and transport use varies by state and agency protocol. Not every agency carries oxytocin.
- Storage & Stability: Store at 20–25°C (68–77°F). Do not freeze. Keep vials out of direct heat or cold in the vehicle.
- Carried Concentration: 10 units/mL vials are for IM use. IV bags are prepared per institution (for example 10 units per 1,000 mL = 10 mU/mL). Bag concentration varies, so always read the label concentration. Confirm which product is in hand before use. The two are not interchangeable at the same mL.
- Infusions in Transport: Pump only. Piggyback on saline or Ringer's lactate. State the rate in mL/hr and mU/min on the chart. Verify concentration at handoff.
- Altitude / Environment: not addressed in the label.
- Handoff Essentials: time, route and total units given. Time of placenta delivery. Current rate. Uterine tone. Quantified blood loss. Fetal heart rate. Time of tranexamic acid, if given.
Clinical Pearls
Uterotonic first in the bundle: Once PPH is diagnosed, WHO, FIGO and ICM (2025) recommend immediate deployment of the MOTIVE bundle. Oxytocic drugs are the O step. The rest of the bundle sits alongside them: uterine massage, tranexamic acid, IV fluids, genital tract examination and escalation.
If oxytocin does not stop bleeding: When IV oxytocin is unavailable, or bleeding does not respond to it, WHO-FIGO-ICM 2025 (Recommendation 25) recommends IV ergometrine, oxytocin with ergometrine fixed-dose combination, or a prostaglandin drug (including sublingual misoprostol 800 mcg). Check contraindications per protocol. WHO 2025 recommends carbetocin for prevention of PPH (Recommendation 7.2). It is not a treatment step. Escalate per protocol.
Units are not milliunits: The PPH dose is 10 units, IM or added to a bag. The labor infusion starts at 0.5–1 milliunit/min. Mix these up and the error is 1,000-fold. Write "milliunits" in full. Never write "U".
Oxytocin versus tranexamic acid: Oxytocin contracts the uterus. Tranexamic acid stabilizes clot and does not contract the uterus. In PPH, give both as part of the bundle. Never one instead of the other.
Short IV action, longer IM action: IV works almost immediately and fades within 1 hr. IM takes 3–5 min and lasts 2–3 hr. After an IV bolus, watch for atony returning. Be ready to start the infusion.
Hypotension after bolus: One cesarean dose-finding study gave a 1-unit bolus under spinal anesthesia. 38% developed hypotension after delivery. The label sets no bolus rate, so give IV doses slowly and check BP.
Exam discriminator (FP-C, CCP-C): The PPH IM dose is 10 units after placenta delivery. Labor infusion rates in milliunits/min are never the PPH dose. For dosing in an antepartum patient, follow the contraindication list.
Pharmacology
Mechanism of Action
- Target: Oxytocin receptors sit in the myometrium. Receptor density rises through pregnancy and peaks in early labor at term (label)
- Effect: It raises intracellular Ca²⁺, and that drives actomyosin contraction of the uterine muscle (label)
- Consequence: uterine contraction that limits bleeding after delivery and drives labor progress
- Off-target: At high doses, pressor and antidiuretic effects appear. The antidiuretic effect increases water reabsorption from the glomerular filtrate (label)
Pharmacokinetics
| Route | Onset | Peak | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| IV | Almost immediate | Not stated on label | Uterine response subsides within 1 hr |
| IM | 3–5 min | Not stated on label | Persists 2–3 hr |
- Half-life: plasma half-life about 1 to 6 min, shorter in late pregnancy and during lactation (label)
- Metabolism: Removal from plasma is rapid, largely by the kidney and liver. The label names no CYP enzymes
- Active metabolites: none identified on label
- Elimination: only small amounts excreted unchanged in urine (label)
- Distribution: It spreads through the extracellular fluid. Small amounts reach the fetal circulation (label)
Names & Classification
- Generic Name
- Oxytocin (synthetic)
- Brand Names
- Pitocin (Par Health, US); multiple generic injections (for example Fresenius Kabi and Hikma)
- Pharmacologic Class
- Synthetic posterior pituitary hormone (nonapeptide)
- Therapeutic Class
- Uterotonic (obstetric)
- Controlled Substance
- Not controlled
- ISMP High-Alert
- Yes: ISMP high-alert medication (IV oxytocin, acute care list)
- Look-Alike / Sound-Alike
- None confirmed in this review; confirm with pharmacy
- Error-Prone Abbreviations to Avoid
- "U" for units; "mU" read as units (write milliunits in full)
References
- Par Health USA. (2026). Pitocin (oxytocin injection, USP): Prescribing information (revised R03/2026). DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=6e5a66fc-e507-497c-b5ce-44a8c95898ad
- Fresenius Kabi USA. (2023). Oxytocin injection, USP (synthetic): Prescribing information (revised July 2023; DailyMed version February 2026). DailyMed. https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=c7fd585a-99b7-4309-b003-a6cbef05372c
- World Health Organization, International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics, & International Confederation of Midwives. (2025). Consolidated guidelines for the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of postpartum haemorrhage. World Health Organization. https://www.who.int/publications/i/item/9789240115637
- Coomarasamy, A., Devall, A. J., Bell, S., Sindhu, K. N., Mammoliti, K. M., Nausheen, S., et al. (2026). Diagnosis and treatment of postpartum haemorrhage: a race against time. The Lancet, 408(10549), 83–92. https://doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(26)01031-7
- American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. (2017; reaffirmed 2024). Practice Bulletin No. 183: Postpartum hemorrhage. Obstetrics & Gynecology, 130(4), e168–e186. https://doi.org/10.1097/AOG.0000000000002351
- Phung, L. C., Farrington, E. K., Connolly, M., Wilson, A. N., Carvalho, B., & Homer, C. S. E. (2021). Intravenous oxytocin dosing regimens for postpartum hemorrhage prevention following cesarean delivery: a systematic review and meta-analysis. American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 225(3), 250.e1–250.e38. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ajog.2021.04.258
- Boonstra, L., Carvalho, J. C. A., Turner, W., Downey, K., Ye, X. Y., & Thomas, J. (2024). Maintenance infusion rate of oxytocin after initial 1-IU bolus for elective Cesarean delivery: a dose-finding study. Canadian Journal of Anesthesia, 71(10), 1363–1371. https://doi.org/10.1007/s12630-024-02828-9
- ECRI Institute, on behalf of the Institute for Safe Medication Practices. (2024). ISMP List of High-Alert Medications in Acute Care Settings (PDF; lists oxytocin, IV). https://www.ismp.org/system/files/resources/2024-01/ISMP_HighAlert_AcuteCare_List_010924_MS5760.pdf
Medical Disclaimer
- For Educational Purposes Only: This content is intended for educational reference and should not be used for clinical decision-making.
- Not a Substitute for Professional Judgment: Always consult your local protocols, institutional guidelines, and supervising physicians.
- Verify Before Acting: Users are responsible for verifying information through authoritative sources before any clinical application.
AI Assistance Notice
AI was used to assist in organizing, paraphrasing, and formatting this information.