Bedside Snapshot
- Use It For
- Opioid use disorder (OUD) induction and maintenance (SL film or tablet; monthly or weekly subcut depots); moderate opioid withdrawal in EMS and ED; severe acute pain (IV or IM injection)
- Adult Dose
- SL induction: 2–4 mg first; day 1 up to 8 mg, day 2 up to 16 mg
- Sublocade: 300 mg subcut, repeat 1 week to 1 month later, then 100 mg monthly
- Pain (IV or IM): 0.3 mg as needed; repeat up to every 6 hours
- Pediatric Dose
- Pain (IV or IM, ages 2–12): 2–6 mcg/kg every 4–6 hours. OUD products: not established in children; specialist use only
- Onset / Duration
- SL: peak about 1–1.5 hours; once daily. IM (pain): effect within 15 minutes, lasts 6 hours or longer. Sublocade: peak about 24 hours; monthly
- Do Not Give / Hold If
- IV or IM use of Sublocade or Brixadi; opioid-naive patients (Brixadi); withdrawal not yet objective or too soon after full agonist; sedated at dose time; known hypersensitivity
- Watch For
- Respiratory depression with benzodiazepines or alcohol; precipitated withdrawal in full-agonist dependence; QT prolongation with hypokalemia or bradycardia; hepatitis
- Reversal / Rescue
- Naloxone per the naloxone page; ventilate first. Reversal may be slow or incomplete, so repeated naloxone doses may be needed
- Must Remember
- Depot products are never IV: Sublocade forms a solid mass and Brixadi a gel in body fluids, causing emboli and occlusion
Indications
Emergency & Prehospital
- Moderate opioid withdrawal in opioid use disorder (OUD): Start buprenorphine once objective signs of moderate withdrawal show up. The time since the last full-agonist dose also has to be long enough (see Dosing). The NAEMSP 2026 position statement supports prehospital buprenorphine under low-barrier protocols where scope allows
- Naloxone-precipitated or post-overdose withdrawal: Buprenorphine can treat the withdrawal, and maintenance can start in the field. Protocol-dependent
- Acute severe pain: Buprenorphine hydrochloride IV or IM is labeled for pain severe enough to need an opioid. Use it when the alternatives fall short
ED / ICU / Transport
- OUD induction in the emergency department: Sublingual (SL) buprenorphine started in the ED, with referral for ongoing care (see Dosing for fentanyl-era options)
- OUD maintenance: SL film or tablet, usually buprenorphine with naloxone for unsupervised dosing
- Long-acting injectables: Sublocade (monthly, subcutaneous) and Brixadi (weekly or monthly, subcutaneous) for patients established on buprenorphine
- Analgesia in patients on buprenorphine: Keep buprenorphine going. Under supervision, a full agonist may be needed at higher analgesic doses (see Clinical Pearls)
- Fentanyl-positive patients: Induction timing and dosing are different from heroin-dependent patients. See Dosing (fentanyl-era induction)
Other Uses
- Opioid use disorder in pregnancy: Buprenorphine is used in pregnancy when the benefit outweighs the risk. Neonatal opioid withdrawal syndrome (NOWS) is an expected, treatable outcome (see Special Populations)
- Other buprenorphine products for chronic pain (buccal film, transdermal patch) fall outside this page
Dosing & Administration
Doses vary by protocol; follow local protocols and medical direction.
Available Forms
- Sublingual film, buprenorphine/naloxone (Suboxone and generics): 2 mg/0.5 mg, 4 mg/1 mg, 8 mg/2 mg and 12 mg/3 mg per film (label)
- Sublingual tablet, buprenorphine alone (generics): 2 mg and 8 mg. Labeled for induction. Buprenorphine/naloxone is preferred after induction (label)
- Sublocade (buprenorphine extended-release solution): Subcut monthly depot. Only a health care provider gives it. Maintenance is 100 mg (300 mg may be considered)
- Brixadi (buprenorphine injection): Subcut weekly or monthly depot. Only a health care provider gives it. Weekly and monthly strengths follow the label
- Buprenorphine hydrochloride injection, 0.3 mg base/mL: 1 mL single-dose cartridge (0.3 mg) for IV or IM use (Buprenex-type label)
High-Alert Medication: IV buprenorphine is an opioid with a respiratory-depression risk. REMS restricts the depot products. IV injection carries the boxed warning for serious harm or death. IM or intradermal injection is not permitted (labels), with more injection-site reactions. Double-check product, route and dose independently before any injection.
Adult Dosing
| Indication | Dose & Route | Repeat / Max | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| OUD induction, SL (heroin or short-acting opioid) | 2–4 mg SL first dose; titrate in 2–4 mg steps about every 2 hours | Day 1 up to 8 mg; day 2 up to 16 mg, once daily | High-alert Start only when objective moderate withdrawal appears and at least 6 hours after heroin, fentanyl or other short-acting opioid (Suboxone film and Sublocade labels; the generic SL tablet label says 4 hours). Fentanyl-exposed patients: see the fentanyl-era block below. Use the sublingual site during induction. |
| OUD maintenance, SL | 4–24 mg SL once daily; adjust in 2 mg or 4 mg steps | Above 24 mg/day not studied in randomized trials; no maximum duration | High-alert Target 16 mg/day after induction (label). Buprenorphine/naloxone preferred for unsupervised dosing. |
| OUD induction, Sublocade (not on buprenorphine) | initial transmucosal buprenorphine dose (for example 4 mg), observe 1 hour; then 300 mg subcut; second 300 mg 1 week to 1 month later | 300 mg per injection; up to 8 mg extra SL on induction day | High-alert Monitor in a health care setting until symptoms are stable. Established on 8–24 mg/day SL: 300 mg then 300 mg (100 mg second dose if controlled on 8–18 mg/day). |
| OUD maintenance, Sublocade | 100 mg subcut monthly; 300 mg monthly may be considered | Doses at least 26 days apart; 300 mg per month | High-alert Missed dose: give as soon as possible. Delays up to 2 weeks are not expected to matter (label). |
| OUD induction, Brixadi weekly | 16 mg subcut first dose, then 8 mg within 3 days (24 mg week 1) | Weekly at 7-day intervals; up to 32 mg per week | High-alert Give only after a tolerated 4 mg transmucosal test dose (Brixadi label). Not for opioid-naive patients. Switch from SL: 8 mg weekly if 6 mg/day or less; 16 mg for 8–10 mg/day; 24 mg for 12–16 mg/day; 32 mg for 18–24 mg/day. |
| OUD maintenance, Brixadi monthly | 64, 96 or 128 mg subcut monthly, matched to prior SL dose (8–10, 12–16 or 18–24 mg/day) | Monthly (28-day interval, ±7 days); up to 128 mg per month | High-alert For patients already on SL buprenorphine; not for initiation. Weekly and monthly doses are converted by table, not by milligram. |
| Acute severe pain, buprenorphine HCl IV or IM | 0.3 mg deep IM, or slow IV over at least 2 minutes; repeat up to every 6 hours as needed | Repeat once (0.3 mg) at 30–60 minutes if needed; single dose up to 0.6 mg, IM only, adults not high-risk; no fixed total | High-alert IV route has the highest risk, especially with the first dose. Reduce dose for elderly, debilitated, respiratory disease, or other CNS depressants. |
Pediatric Dosing
| Indication | Dose (per kg) & Route | Max Single / Max Total | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pain, IV or IM, ages 2–12 years | 2–6 mcg/kg IV or IM every 4–6 hours | Single dose above 6 mcg/kg not recommended; no fixed total | Label: not established under age 2 years. Do not repeat at 30–60 minutes as in adults. Round-the-clock dosing only after the interval is set by observation. Naloxone reversal per the naloxone page. |
| OUD: SL, Sublocade, Brixadi | Not established in children | Not established | Safety and effectiveness not established in pediatric patients (labels). Specialist use only. |
Pediatric notes: Pain dosing is in the injection label, above. The buprenorphine/naloxone combination products are not appropriate for neonatal abstinence syndrome. They contain naloxone (Suboxone label). Weight-based dosing reference: weight-based dosing.
Accidental pediatric exposure: The Brixadi label warns of severe, possibly fatal respiratory depression in children who are accidentally exposed. Treat it as an opioid overdose: ventilate, then give naloxone. The labels set no fixed observation period and give no infusion advice for pediatric exposure. Observe until breathing and sedation are stable.
Preparation & Administration
- Sublingual: place film or tablet under the tongue and let it dissolve completely; do not swallow. Keep the sublingual site during induction (buccal absorption gives more naloxone exposure)
- IV or IM (buprenorphine HCl): IV slowly over at least 2 minutes; deep IM. Protect from light (carton label)
- Depot injections (Sublocade, Brixadi): subcut only, into the abdomen, thigh, buttock or back of the upper arm; rotate sites; never IV, IM or intradermal
- Sublocade handling: keep refrigerated; allow at least 15 minutes to reach room temperature; do not open the pouch until the patient is ready; discard if left at room temperature longer than 12 weeks
- Observation: monitor depot recipients in a health care setting until withdrawal and sedation are stable before release
Fentanyl-era induction (off-label, protocol-dependent): The labels set fixed minimum waits, and they allow a start only after objective withdrawal. The options below are not in the labels. Use them only under medical direction and a written protocol.
- Standard induction: Follow the label sequence in the table above. Start once objective moderate withdrawal (COWS) is present and the label wait has passed. Precipitated withdrawal is most likely after recent heavy fentanyl use (see Precautions)
- Low-dose (microdose) overlap induction: Small starting doses, raised step by step. Used for patients who cannot tolerate withdrawal, or who have recent fentanyl or methadone exposure. The evidence comes from small, early studies and ongoing trials. No outcome data are given here
- High-dose ED induction: Some EDs use it for objective withdrawal. A 2021 single-site retrospective case series in JAMA Network Open reported total SL doses of 2 to more than 28 mg. Precipitated withdrawal occurred in 0.8% of cases, with no dose association. The series had no comparison group
Dosing Notes: Wait 6 hours after a short-acting opioid (Suboxone film and Sublocade labels). The generic SL tablet label says 4 hours. After a long-acting opioid such as methadone, wait 24 hours. Depot doses are not milligram-for-milligram equivalent to SL doses. Adult OUD doses are not based on dosing weight. Prehospital SL induction dose and timing depend on the protocol.
Contraindications & Precautions
Contraindications
- Known hypersensitivity to buprenorphine or a product component (Sublocade: ATRIGEL delivery system; Brixadi: hypersensitivity including anaphylaxis; Suboxone: buprenorphine or naloxone)
- Buprenorphine injection: significant respiratory depression; acute or severe bronchial asthma in an unmonitored setting or without resuscitative equipment; known or suspected GI obstruction including paralytic ileus
Precautions
- Full-agonist dependence: Buprenorphine can precipitate withdrawal when it is given too soon after heroin, fentanyl or another short-acting opioid. The minimum wait is 6 hours per the Sublocade and Suboxone film labels. The generic SL tablet label says 4 hours. After a long-acting opioid such as methadone, wait at least 24 hours. The risk rises with methadone above 30 mg daily. The labels set fixed minimums only. After recent or heavy fentanyl use, see Dosing (fentanyl-era induction)
- Benzodiazepines, alcohol and other CNS depressants: Additive respiratory depression, coma and death. The label says not to withhold OUD treatment for this reason
- Compromised breathing (COPD, cor pulmonale, hypoxia, hypercapnia). Use caution. If a depot is stopped for respiratory compromise, keep monitoring for months
- Hepatic impairment: Levels rise and the half-life lengthens in moderate and severe impairment. Sublocade is not for patients with pre-existing moderate to severe hepatic impairment. Brixadi is not recommended in moderate to severe impairment (labels). Avoid Suboxone film in severe impairment. It may not be appropriate in moderate impairment
- QT prolongation: Thorough QT studies show prolongation of 15 ms or less. The label's risk factors include hypokalemia, bradycardia, digitalis, heart failure, baseline QT prolongation and severe hypomagnesemia
- Abdominal and neurologic presentations: Buprenorphine may obscure the diagnosis of an acute abdomen. It can raise cerebrospinal fluid pressure (Brixadi label)
- Opioid-naive patients (Brixadi): Not appropriate. This is a label warning, not a contraindication. The label reports deaths in opioid-naive people who took a 2 mg SL tablet
Hold / Reassess If
- Sedated at the time of a scheduled dose: delay or omit the buprenorphine dose (Sublocade label)
- Breathing inadequate for age, or SpO₂ falling: stop further buprenorphine, ventilate, and give naloxone per the naloxone page; keep ventilating while naloxone acts
- Withdrawal signs not yet moderate on an SL induction: do not start; reassess and wait out the labeled interval
- Hypokalemia, hypomagnesemia, bradycardia or a QT-prolonging drug added: obtain an ECG and correct electrolytes before the next dose
- Moderate or severe hepatic impairment on SL therapy: monitor for toxicity (label). Buprenorphine-alone SL tablets: halve the starting and titration doses in severe impairment (tablet label)
FDA Boxed Warning: Sublocade and Brixadi carry a boxed warning for serious harm or death with IV administration. The depot forms a solid mass or gel, which can cause emboli. REMS restricts them. Injectable buprenorphine (Buprenex-type label) carries warnings for life-threatening respiratory depression, neonatal opioid withdrawal syndrome, and addiction and misuse. SL film and tablets have no boxed warning.
Withdrawal first: Starting buprenorphine on top of a full-agonist opioid can trigger severe withdrawal. Fentanyl and methadone make it more likely. Confirm the time since the last dose and objective withdrawal before the first dose.
Adverse Effects & Toxicity
Common
- Opioid-type effects: nausea, vomiting, constipation, headache, dizziness, sweating
- Sedation, especially during induction and after dose increases
- Oral effects with SL products: local irritation at the sublingual site
- Injection-site reactions with depot products: pain, nodules, local reactions
- Withdrawal symptoms when doses are missed or stopped abruptly (milder and later than with full agonists)
Serious / Life-Threatening
| Effect | Recognition | Management |
|---|---|---|
| Precipitated withdrawal | Within minutes to hours of the first dose: vomiting, agitation, tachycardia, hypertension, yawning, piloerection | Stop dosing and treat symptoms (antiemetic, calm environment, airway protection). Additional buprenorphine per protocol (protocol-dependent) |
| Respiratory depression | Slow or shallow breathing, sedation, pinpoint pupils, falling SpO₂ or rising EtCO₂; worse with benzodiazepines or alcohol | Ventilate, give oxygen, then naloxone (repeat doses may be needed; see Overdose) |
| Depot embolization (IV injection) | Pulmonary embolism, occlusion, local tissue damage after IV injection | Emergency pulmonary embolism care per ACLS and local protocol. Brixadi label: surgical removal is not recommended |
| Hepatic injury | Rising transaminases, jaundice, hepatitis; more likely with hepatitis B or C, other hepatotoxic drugs or injection use | Check liver tests; the Sublocade label recommends monthly monitoring on the 300 mg dose; etiologic evaluation when suspected |
| QT prolongation | QTc prolongation on ECG, most in patients with electrolyte or rhythm risk factors | Correct potassium and magnesium; review other QT-prolonging drugs; cardiac monitoring per local protocol |
Overdose & Toxicity Management
- Toxidrome: pinpoint pupils, sedation, hypotension, hypoglycemia, respiratory depression and death. Toxic leukoencephalopathy can appear days to weeks after the patient seems to recover (SL label)
- Immediate care: protect the airway and ventilate; oxygen, IV fluids and vasopressors as indicated (SL label)
- Naloxone: adult 0.2–2 mg IV, IO or IM (2025 AHA Part 10; differs from FDA label: 0.4–2 mg IV), or 2–4 mg IN, repeated every 2–3 minutes. Buprenorphine may need higher and repeated doses. Pediatric and adult detail on the naloxone page
- Prolonged observation: The SL half-life is about 24–42 hours (31–35 in the tablet label). Depot products can persist for months. Don't discharge early after a reversal
- Poison information: call poison control (1-800-222-1222) for complex or pediatric exposures
Monitoring
| Parameter | When / How Often | Target / Act If |
|---|---|---|
| Clinical | Breathing rate, depth, SpO₂ and sedation during induction and after each dose increase | Breathing inadequate for age or SpO₂ falling: stop further doses, ventilate, give naloxone |
| Clinical | Withdrawal signs (Clinical Opiate Withdrawal Scale, COWS) before induction and 1–2 hours after the first dose | Moderate withdrawal present before the first SL dose; a trial in the ED used COWS of 8 or higher for SL dosing |
| Clinical | Sedation before each scheduled dose | Sedated: delay or omit the dose (label) |
| Clinical | Depot recipients: until stable in a health care setting | Worsening withdrawal or sedation before release: keep observing |
| Laboratory | Liver tests before starting, monthly on Sublocade 300 mg | Hepatic event suspected: etiologic evaluation |
| Laboratory | Hypokalemia or hypomagnesemia: correct before the next dose | |
| ECG | Baseline and with QT risk factors or added QT-prolonging drugs | QTc prolonged or rising: correct electrolytes, review drugs, monitor per protocol |
| Drug interactions | Start or stop of a CYP3A4 inhibitor or inducer | Inhibitor added: monitor for sedation and respiratory depression. Inhibitor stopped or inducer started: monitor for withdrawal |
| Observation | After reversal or a depot dose | Recurrent sedation or breathing problems as naloxone wears off: extend observation |
Interactions & Compatibility
| Drug / Class | Effect | What To Do |
|---|---|---|
| Benzodiazepines, alcohol, other sedatives, opioids, gabapentinoids | Additive respiratory depression, profound sedation, coma and death | Taper or stop the other agent where possible; if co-use is necessary, strongly consider naloxone and close monitoring (label) |
| Full-agonist opioids (heroin, fentanyl, morphine, methadone) | Precipitated withdrawal if buprenorphine is started too soon; reduced analgesic effect of full agonists in patients on buprenorphine | Confirm time since last dose before induction. For pain, a high-affinity full agonist may be needed under supervision with higher doses (Brixadi label) |
| CYP3A4 inhibitors: macrolides (erythromycin), azole antifungals (ketoconazole), ritonavir | Higher buprenorphine levels; prolonged opioid effect; withdrawal if the inhibitor is stopped | Consider dose reduction if needed; monitor for respiratory depression and sedation; consider dose increase when the inhibitor is stopped |
| CYP3A4 inducers | Lower buprenorphine levels; loss of effect; withdrawal | Monitor for withdrawal and adjust the dose |
| QT-prolonging drugs; hypokalemia; bradycardia; digitalis | Additive QT risk; the label says the risk of combining buprenorphine with other QT-prolonging agents is not known | ECG and electrolytes before adding or continuing the combination |
IV Compatibility
- Buprenorphine HCl injection: The label gives no Y-site compatibility data. Avoid co-infusion through the same line unless it has been checked
- Sublocade and Brixadi: never given IV; do not place in an IV line
- Verify with an institutional compatibility resource.
Special Populations
- Pediatrics: Pain dosing is established from age 2 years under the injection label (see Pediatric Dosing). OUD products are not established in children. Accidental exposure can be fatal
- Neonates: Neonatal opioid withdrawal syndrome is an expected, treatable outcome of maternal treatment. The naloxone-containing combination is not appropriate for neonatal abstinence syndrome
- Pregnancy: Untreated opioid use disorder is linked to low birth weight, preterm birth and fetal death. Human data do not show an increased risk of major malformations from buprenorphine. Sublocade animal data show embryolethality and malformations at multiples of the human dose. Part of that is attributed to the vehicle. Labor may need extra analgesia
- Lactation: Buprenorphine passes into breast milk. The label advises watching the infant for drowsiness and breathing difficulty
- Older Adults: Start the buprenorphine injection at the low end of the range and titrate slowly. Watch for respiratory and CNS depression (injection label)
- Renal Impairment: The label gives no dose adjustment. In dialysis-dependent patients, buprenorphine kinetics after 0.3 mg IV were no different from normal patients
- Hepatic Impairment: Levels rise and the half-life lengthens in moderate and severe impairment. For buprenorphine-alone SL tablets, halve starting and titration doses in severe impairment. Avoid buprenorphine/naloxone film in severe impairment. It may not be appropriate in moderate impairment. Sublocade is not for moderate to severe pre-existing impairment. Brixadi is not recommended in moderate to severe impairment
- Obesity / Dosing Weight: Adult OUD doses are fixed, not weight-based. Pediatric pain dosing is per kg. No specific obesity adjustment is established
- Opioid-Naive Patients: Not appropriate for Brixadi. Deaths have been reported after a 2 mg SL tablet in opioid-naive people
Field & Transport Considerations
- Scope: EMS and transport use varies by state and agency protocol. The NAEMSP 2026 statement recommends scope and low-barrier protocols for prehospital buprenorphine
- Storage & Stability: Protect the injection from light. Sublocade is refrigerated. It needs 15 minutes to reach room temperature. Discard it if it is left at room temperature for more than 12 weeks
- Carried Concentration: The injection is 0.3 mg/mL. SL film and tablets come in several milligram strengths. Confirm the strength and form before dosing
- Infusions in Transport: none labeled for buprenorphine
- Example induction elements (protocol-specific): objective moderate withdrawal (COWS about 8 or higher) before the first dose; an initial transmucosal dose of 2–4 mg SL; reassess before any further dose (titration about every 2 hours); naloxone per the naloxone page if breathing falls; a referral or bridge prescription at handoff
- Handoff Essentials: time and dose of last buprenorphine or depot injection (next dose due); time and type of last opioid use; withdrawal score before dose; response, sedation and breathing after dose
Clinical Pearls
Count the hours: The clock starts at the last short-acting opioid. The label window is 6 hours (Suboxone film and Sublocade labels), and the generic SL tablet label says 4 hours. Methadone pushes it to 24. Start too early and you precipitate withdrawal.
Ventilate first: Naloxone may work slowly here, or not fully, so expect to repeat it. Inadequate breathing? Bag-mask ventilate until the naloxone catches up.
Depots are not always palpable: You may not feel the gel under the skin. The Brixadi label says removal is not recommended. Write the injection date and product in the handoff. Never try IV use or removal.
Buprenorphine formulations compared:
- SL film or tablet: once daily, peak about 1–1.5 hours, half-life about 24–42 hours (31–35 in the tablet label)
- Sublocade: 100 mg subcut monthly after induction; peak about 24 hours; half-life 43–60 days
- Brixadi: weekly (half-life 3–5 days) or monthly (19–26 days) subcut
- Buprenorphine injection (pain): 0.3 mg IV or IM, effect within 15 minutes, lasts 6 hours or longer
Analgesia on buprenorphine: Non-opioid options come first. If the patient still needs an opioid, the Brixadi label says a high-affinity full agonist may be given under supervision. Expect to use higher doses, and watch the breathing closely.
Exam-style discriminator (CEN, CCRN): A patient on methadone 60 mg daily gets a first buprenorphine dose 6 hours after the last methadone. That is too early. The label wants at least 24 hours after methadone, so the answer is wait.
Pharmacology
Mechanism of Action
- Target: partial agonist at the mu-opioid receptor
- Physiologic effect: Opioid effects plateau with dose. That means less respiratory depression, and milder, later withdrawal than with full agonists (labels)
- Clinical consequence: It can precipitate withdrawal in full-agonist dependence. Reversal by naloxone can be incomplete or slow
Pharmacokinetics
| Route | Onset | Peak | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| SL (film or tablet) | Not stated in label | About 1.3–1.4 hours (8–16 mg) | Single daily dose |
| IM (injection, pain) | About 15 minutes | About 1 hour | 6 hours or longer |
| IV (injection, pain) | Faster than IM (not quantified) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Subcut, Sublocade | Not stated | About 24 hours | Monthly depot; half-life 43–60 days |
| Subcut, Brixadi | Not stated | Not stated | Weekly or monthly depot; half-life 3–5 days or 19–26 days |
- Half-life: SL about 24–42 hours (Suboxone film label; 31–35 hours in the generic tablet label); IV (postoperative) 1.2–7.2 hours, mean 2.2 hours; subcut depots as above
- Metabolism: N-dealkylation to norbuprenorphine, mainly by CYP3A4, then glucuronidation
- Active metabolites: Norbuprenorphine binds opioid receptors in vitro. Its clinical activity is not established
- Elimination: urine and feces; 30% and 69% of an SL radiolabeled dose recovered in urine and feces over 11 days
- Protein binding: about 96%, mainly alpha and beta globulin
Names & Classification
- Generic name
- Buprenorphine (buprenorphine hydrochloride for SL and injection; buprenorphine for subcut depots)
- Brand names (US)
- Suboxone (buprenorphine/naloxone sublingual film); Sublocade; Brixadi; Buprenex-type buprenorphine injection (Carpuject); generic SL tablets and buprenorphine/naloxone film and tablets. Zubsolv (buprenorphine/naloxone SL tablet) is also marketed
- Pharmacologic class
- Partial mu-opioid receptor agonist
- Therapeutic class
- Opioid use disorder treatment; opioid analgesic (injection)
- Controlled substance
- C-III
- ISMP high-alert
- Yes: IV opioid (verify against the current ISMP acute-care list)
- Look-alike / sound-alike
- None commonly reported; confirm the product form (SL, depot or injection) before dosing
References
- Indivior Inc. (2026). SUBLOCADE (buprenorphine) extended-release solution: prescribing information. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (revised 07/2026). https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=6189fb21-9432-45f8-8481-0bfaf3ccde95
- Braeburn Inc. (2026). BRIXADI (buprenorphine) injection: prescribing information. DailyMed (revised 01/2026). https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=5d8a8fd0-8619-422a-a664-d1d2e8970f48
- Indivior Inc. (2026). SUBOXONE (buprenorphine and naloxone) sublingual film: prescribing information. DailyMed (revised 02/2026). https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=8a5edcf9-828c-4f97-b671-268ab13a8ecd
- Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. (2026). Buprenorphine sublingual tablets (generic): prescribing information. DailyMed (revised 03/2026). https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=1bf8b35a-b769-465c-a2f8-099868dfcd2f
- Hospira, Inc. (2026). Buprenorphine hydrochloride injection, USP CIII: prescribing information. DailyMed (revised 01/2026). https://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?setid=23aa1bb3-cecf-4e62-29bb-48488bb66fc3
- National Association of EMS Physicians (2026). The role of emergency medical services in addressing opioid use disorder: a position statement and resource document of NAEMSP. Prehospital Emergency Care. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/42114053/
- American Society of Addiction Medicine (2020). The ASAM National Practice Guideline for the Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder: 2020 Focused Update. Journal of Addiction Medicine, 14(2S Suppl 1), 1–91. This is the most recent ASAM edition located for this page; it predates the fentanyl-era practice described above. https://doi.org/10.1097/ADM.0000000000000633
- Herring AA, Vosooghi AA, Luftig J (2021). High-Dose Buprenorphine Induction in the Emergency Department for Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder. JAMA Network Open. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2021.17128
Medical Disclaimer
- For Educational Purposes Only: This content is intended for educational reference and should not be used for clinical decision-making.
- Not a Substitute for Professional Judgment: Always consult your local protocols, institutional guidelines, and supervising physicians.
- Verify Before Acting: Users are responsible for verifying information through authoritative sources before any clinical application.
AI Assistance Notice
AI was used to assist in organizing, paraphrasing, and formatting this information.